Info

photography diary by Kay Lee

6934000469340007693400056934001569340010693400096934001369340006something I started to do on 2014 and wish to continue on 2015 is analog photography. I did some film photography during high school but the camera I was using back then were the new kinds as far as I could remember. I bought a vintage Asahi Spotmatic camera on ebay because I really wanted a 50mm 1.4 takumar lens, and since I got the camera as well I thought I should challenge myself on analog shooting. I did, and the experience was just phenomenal! I had so much fun, and I’ll most definitely continue exploring in this overwhelming analog journey 🙂 Btw, any good or interesting films I should try out? anything is greatly appreciated!

Comments

7 Comments

Post a comment
  1. January 6, 2015

    Good photos; like the ones zoomed in on the squirrel best – it’s so cute.

    • January 6, 2015

      ah, thank you! i love taking pictures of squirrels, they are the cutest in arboretum 😀

  2. January 22, 2015

    Congrats on taking up film photography, it will push you and make you better in so many ways! The colors in these pics are so dream-like, do you home develop? I’m also a big fan of the Spotmatic and Pentax screw-mount lenses, though I’ve yet to pick up the 50mm 1.4, but I definitely plan to! My favorite combination of films with the Takumar lens is Fuji Superia: it’s cheap, readily available, and looks super (pun intended). Wal-mart carries 4-packs at a good price and you can choose 200, 400, and 800 speed varieties. For black and white there’s no better film than Kodak Tri-X (400TX). Good luck on your journey, it looks like so far you’ve got some nice images.

    • January 22, 2015

      Thank you so much!! I will definitely try out the films you recommended!! It’s still pretty new to me, but I’m enjoying it a lot 🙂

      I didn’t home develop these films, actually it was developed from costco 😀 but the first roll of the film was a complete failure though. It was totally over exposed and not even any filter could help editing it.. I find it hard to take good pictures when it’s too sunny here, but next time I’m thinking to take some sunset shots by the beach and see how it goes!

      • January 22, 2015

        Usually with color negative you have to overexpose the film by many many stops before it becomes unusable, but it might take a better scan job to get the most out of overexposed negatives. While I haven’t heard anything bad about Costco, I can’t help but feel that you’d be better off with a pro camera store doing your processing/scanning. What film is this? There seems to be a strange color shift that could be either improper temperatures or exhausted chemicals…unless the film is supposed to look like that…

      • January 22, 2015

        Yeah, I agree! I was thinking about taking it to the pro camera store but since it was my first few rolls of film I didn’t think it’d turned out well so I took it to Costco out of convenience. I remembered the films were the already expired Kodak 400 found in our drawer.. oh but I did edit the pictures from LightRoom before posting them 🙂 Otherwise it was too soft of the colors and lack of impact..

      • January 23, 2015

        Expired film can have some unintentional side-effects, that’s for sure

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS